Breaking News

President Jokowi appoints new ministers, Sri Mulyani as finance minister, Archandra as energy minister

JAKARTA ( – President Joko Widodo (Jokowi) on Wednesday (July 27) appoints new cabinet ministers, with some new faces joining the cabinet, including veteran reformer and former finance minister Sri Mulyani Indrawati. Sri Mulyani is currently a managing director of the World Bank.

Some existing cabinet members are moved to hold new positions such as coordinating minister for politics, legal and security affairs Luhut Binsar Panjaitan, who is moved to hold new post as coordinating minister for maritime affairs.

President Joko Widodo calls on his cabinet ministers to work faster, effective and support each others.

“No one blames others. One’s weakness will be everyone’s weakness as we are working in a team,” the President said in a first cabinet meeting after the second cabinet reshuffle on Wednesday (July 7).

The President said there is no vision and mission of a minister, instead a vision and mission of the President and Vice President. All ministers and government agencies need to pursue the same vision and mission.

Any policies related with the public at large needs to be discussed at cabinet meeting level, at least in a limited cabinet meeting.

Any decisions made in a cabinet meeting will become everyone’s decision. All ministers must be consistent in carrying out the decsion. The President doesn’t want each minister walks on their own path. Decisions that affecting various sectors will be coordinated by a coordinating minister, he said.

The President said the government’s current focus is food related with food prices, secondly economic gap between the haves and the poor as well as development gap between one region and the other.

“It is important that we address this problem,” he said, adding that poverty and unemployment issues are also high in the governmetn’s agenda,” he said.

Among other key ministers appointed to become ministers are Airlangga Hartarto as minister for industry and Acandra Tahar as new Energy and Mineral Resources Minister.

Based on the announced list, there are 12 new faces in the new cabinet list. Following is the complete list of new cabinet:

1. Coordinating Minister for Politics, Legal and Security Affairs Wiranto, replacing Luhut Binsar Panjaitan

2. Coordinating Minister for Maritime Affairs Luhut Binsar Panjaitan, replacing Rizal Ramli

3. Minister for Education and Culture: Dr Muhajir, former Rector of Muhammadiyah University, Malang, replacing Anies Baswedan

4. Trade Minister Enggartiasto Lukti (Nasdem Party), replacing Thomas Lembong

5. Minister for Agrarian Sofyan Djalil, replacing Ferry Mursyidan Baldan

6. Minister for Industry Airlangga Hartarto (Golkar Party), replacing Saleh Husin

7. Deputy Industry Minister Franky Sibarani

8. Minister for Transportation Budi Karya Sumadi, replacing Ignasius Jonan

9. Minister for Energy and Mineral Resources (ESDM): Archandra Tahar (professional)

10. Minister of Administrative and Bureaucratic Reform Asman Abnur (PAN), replacing Yudi Chrisnandi

11. Head of National Investment Coordinating Board (BKPM): Thomas Lembong

12. Finance Minister Sri Mulyani Indrawati, replacing Bambang Brodjonegoro

13. Minister for National Development Planning and Head of National Developing Planning Agency (Bappenas) Bambang Brodjonegoro, replacing Sofyan Djalil

14. Minister for Ministry of Village, Development of Disadvantaged Regions Eko P Sandjojo (professional)

Check Also

Credit : SKK Migas

Australia’s AWE, Santos plan for sidetrack operations for Ande Ande Lumut appraisal well

JAKARTA ( -  Australia's oil and gas company AWE Limited (ASX: AWE) has been advised by ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *